Advanced Search





 
Please note that the State of CT Department of Consumer Protection's Real Estate Commission has licensing/continuing education authority, not CAR. Any questions regarding pre-licensing, licensing or continuing education requirements should be directed to:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, Connecticut 06106-1630

Main Telephone: (860) 713-6150
Toll-Free: (800) 842-2649
TDD: (860) 713-7240

Fax: (860) 713-7239

Click here for a list of Salesperson and Broker Pre-licensing requirements.

Click here to review "Frequently Asked Questions by REAL ESTATE LICENSEES" created by the State of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection Professional & Occupational Licensing Division.

Click here to review Connecticut Real Estate Laws and Regulations.

For additional information visit the State of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection website.
 
State of Connecticut Continuing Education Requirements for Salespeople and Brokers
Every two years, the State of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection's Real Estate Commission requires licensees to complete a minimum of 12 hours of continuing education (CE).

For 2014:

The State of CT DCP has announced that a 100% audit will be performed on all Salespersons and Brokers licensed in CT to determine that all licensees have complied with and satisfied the requirements stated below:
  • 3 Hours "CT Real Estate Law: Updated and Revisited" (mandatory for 2012-2014 CE cycle)
  • 9 Hours of approved Real Estate Elective courses.

OR

You may elect to pass a 40-question Connecticut Continuing Education Examination administered by PSI. Contact the testing company (PSI) directly at 1-800-733-9267 or visit www.psiexams.com.

CE courses must be completed before the expiration of your license:
  • Broker licenses expire on March 31, 2014
  • Salesperson licenses expire on May 31, 2014
 
Attention New Licensees (Brokers and Salespeople):
Brokers: If you passed the Connecticut Broker licensing examination between 4/1/2012 and 3/31/2014, you do not need to take the continuing education courses.

Salespeople: If you are a new licensee and passed the Connecticut Salesperson licensing examination between 6/1/2012 and 5/31/2014, you do not need to take the continuing education courses.
 
How to obtain continuing education/pre-licensing education credits:
1) Both Salespeople and Brokers are required to fulfill three hours of mandatory Continuing Education (CE) credit and nine hours of elective CE credit. You can take all of these online at your own convenience. Click here for more details and to view course selections.

2) Consider taking GRI courses that provide CE credit; an explanation of the program is available here. Each GRI module fulfills 30 hours of Broker Pre-licensing credit and earns you credit for 9 hours of Elective Credit for Salesperson and Broker license renewal.

3) CAR also offers Continuing Education credit for Broker Pre-licensing Education classes. Take Appraisal-1 and earn 30 hours of Broker Pre-licensing credit and 6 hours of Elective Credit for Salesperson and Broker license renewal.

4) Continuing education credit is also available for all of our Designation Classes. You can fulfill the CE Elective Credit requirements by earning a designation today. Check the REALTOR® Designation page of our website and see what advanced education will assist you in your business. All CAR Designation courses have been approved for continuing education credit. Click here to view our complete course offerings.